Go back

Financial Times scoops award at the 2011 British Press Awards

The Financial Times Moscow bureau chief, Charles Clover, was named “Foreign Reporter of the Year” at the prestigious 2011 British Press Awards, held at The Savoy Hotel in London last night.

The Financial Times was nominated in following categories:

  • Business and Finance Journalist of the Year: Tony Barber (who was highly commended by the judges), Ed Crooks and Martin Wolf
  • Foreign reporter of the Year: Charles Clover and Edward Luce
  • Specialist Journalist of the Year: Chris Giles

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, said: “This award is a testament to the FT’s commitment to the highest standards of global journalism, analysis and reporting. My congratulations and thanks go to the world class team at the FT and to Charles for his great success.”

The British Press Awards is the annual celebration of the very best in journalism across the national press, honouring the finest journalists and newspapers in the land for more than 30 years. The judging process involves more than 100 of the UK’s leading journalists – made up of a mixture of independent figures from across the industry and representatives of all the UK national titles.

Previous success for the FT at the British Press Awards includes the prestigious “Newspaper of the Year” award and the “Business Journalist of the Year” award for Gillian Tett in 2008, “Journalist of the Year” for Gillian Tett in 2009 and “Columnist of the Year” for Lucy Kellaway in 2006.

The FT’s recent global awards success includes:

  • Ed Crooks won “News story of the Year” at the 2010 UK Foreign Press Association Awards for his coverage of the Mexican oil spill.
  • Jamil Anderlini won “Journalist of the Year” at the 2010 Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) Editorial Excellence Awards in Hong Kong for his coverage of China.
  • FT Alphaville won the blog category and John Gapper won the best opinion/column category at the Society of American Business Editors and Writers’ awards in March 2011.

Back to top