The Financial Times (FT) is one of the world's leading business news and information organisations. Discover the many prestigious awards won by our publications, journalists and applications. For details of earlier awards, contact

FT Alphaville wins Advertising Age Media Vanguard Award

FT Alphaville has won an Advertising Age Media Vanguard Award in the “use of blogging” category. This award recognizes “the efforts of publishers and broadcasters … that are finding innovative, technology-driven means to extend their franchises and connect with audiences in new ways.”

 On FT Alphaville, the judges commented: “The FT led the way for financial news blogs when it launched FT Alphaville in 2006; today, the blog is an example of how a free, online product can peacefully coexist — even enhance — the paid online and print products. Alphaville moves fast, tailors coverage to what the readers find interesting and doesn’t shy away from something truly foreign to markets coverage: some light-hearted humor.”

International Building Press Awards.

The FT has scooped two International Building Press Awards:

Santander Media Awards 2010

The Financial Times has been named Personal Finance National Newspaper of the Year at the Santander Media Awards 2010. FT journalist Tanya Powley was also recognised for her mortgage and property coverage this year, coming runner-up in the Specialist Personal Finance Journalist of the Year category.

Ed Crooks wins news story of the year at the UK Foreign Press Association Awards

At this week’s UK Foreign Press Association Awards, Ed Crooks won the print and web news story of the year for his story of BP’s response to the Gulf of Mexico oil spill. Judges cited the story, which appeared in FT Weekend Magazine, as an example of “rigorous and balanced” journalism on “one of the biggest stories of the year”.

Stop TB Partnership Reporting on Tuberculosis Awards

The FT’s Andrew Jack has won the Stop TB Partnership Award for Excellent in Reporting on Tuberculosis, in the high-income country category. Andrew’s article “Diagnosis: Hope”, published in the FT, points to the troubling lack of funding for TB research. He tied in first place with Jen Skerrit’s six-part series, “The Forgotten Disease” published in the Winnepeg Free Press.

State Street Press Awards

The State Street Institutional Press Awards recognise outstanding performance in institutional financial services reporting. FT winners in 2010 are:

  • Kate Burgess – Journalist of the Year Pension Issues category
  • John Authers – Journalist of the Year Investment category

Editorial Intelligence Comment Awards

The FT’s chief foreign affairs columnist, Gideon Rachman, won Foreign Commentator prize at the 2010 Editorial Intelligence Comment Awards. The awards are a celebration of individual commentators, the comment editors and also newspapers/blogs themselves. Gideon writes a weekly piece and a blog which covers a variety of topics from US foreign policy to European politics and the Middle East.

World Steel Association awards

Journalist of the Year: Peter Marsh, Financial Times

Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards 2010

Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Award for a foreign correspondent covering India: Joe Leahy, Mumbai correspondent. The awards are made in honour of the founder of the Indian Express media group

2010 EPpy Awards

  • Best Business Website (more than 1 million monthly visitors):
  • Best Business Blog: FT Alphaville
  • Best News or Politics Blog: FT Tech Blog


FT History Timeline

125 years of FT history

How To Spend It

Website of worldly pleasures